At least twice a week I think to myself, wow, I have to blog this recipe! but then never find the time as a working mama. Because I seldom use recipes and instead craft strange and sometimes wildly delicious edible concoctions, I often feel inspired to document them. But instead months of to do lists pile up in my planner, neglected.

Tonight is a rare exception! I’m sharing a scrumptious smoothie recipe that I created today, as well as the amazing casserole dish I am guiltily eating as we speak (as my husband’s plate of food gets cold; he’s putting Jules back to sleep).

Jules Green Smoothie 4.30

Omega Green Smoothie – all ingredients organic, must be blended in a VitaMix!

2 bananas (frozen)
5 dates (frozen)
handful peach slices (frozen)
handful of strawberries or blueberries (frozen)
2 T soaked chia seeds
2 T flax seed
handful of raw cashews (frozen)
few pecans (frozen)
1 T maca powder

5 big leaves of dino Kale
few cups almond milk
few cups water
few ice cubes

Blend in VitaMix and serve with hemp seeds on top 😉 My 1 year old boy goes bonkers for this stuff!

CasseroleSpinach Potato Casserole

1. Chop 1 large spring onion, use the whole thing (I used a big juicy, purple one from the local farmer’s market). Put it into hot olive oil in a cast iron pan with salt and pepper, saute on low until golden. Add a bit of organic butter (maybe 2 T) for the bread crumbs. Meanwhile wash and put on to steam a dozen or so small organic potatoes, and preheat the oven to 375.

2. Wash and chop a whole big bunch of spinach (also from farmer’s market), throw it in on top of buttery onion saute.

3. Throw in half a bag or so of Rudi’s gluten free herb bread crumbs (for stuffing). Saute.

4. Add 2 cups of steamed and blended carrots and beats for a delicious root essence. Saute another 5 or so minutes while the potatoes finish steaming.

5. Remove the potatoes from heat and chop 6 or so and add to the saute.

6. Beat 6 free range, pasture raised eggs with a splash of water, salt and pepper, and throw on top of vegetable-potato-bread crumb mixture. Mix in.

7. Cover with Daiya vegan mozzarella shreds or regular cheese. Put into oven at 375 degrees for 10 minutes or so, until cooked and fluffy.

I recommend serving with a crisp farmers market lettuce salad of greens, flowers, sugar snap peas, fresh mint, fresh dill, and a light dressing, fresh sliced avocado and drizzled with biodynamic Sunhawk olive oil!

AshJules Spring 2014After consuming these two meals I feel so nourished and happy! I hope you do too!

GreenSmoothieFace_Jules 4.29Buddha JulesFinally, I should say that motherhood is still blissful. My sweet babe just had his first revolution around the sun, which was so special. Erol and I feel so so lucky – we definitely won the baby lottery. His spirit is so playful, joyful and alive ❤

