Jules at 12 months!

Jules at 12 months!

There are so many parenting books out there sometimes it’s hard to find let alone trust good ol’ mothers intuition! I finally reached a point when Jules was 6 months or so when I stopped reading all the books and just trusted that my relationship with him was enough to know what he needed. And guess what, it’s been amazing! That said, there are a few key books I poured over at different stages of pregnancy and during his early development that were so helpful – some for the knowledge and some for the inspiration.

  • Our Babies, Ourselves by Meredith Small – Amazing book that explores parenting approaches from around the world and challenges us to reconsider our (American) culture’s traditional views on parenting
  • Mothering from your Center by Tami Lynn Kent – Just started and wish I had read during my pregnancy, so beautiful and true. Shares a spiritual approach to pregnancy, birth and mothering from the perspective of connecting with our pelvic bowl.
  • The Baby Whisperer – I was so glad I read this in the early months.
  • The Happiest Baby on the Block – I felt very ready to deal with a colicky baby after reading this. Fortunately I never had to, but still these tricks were useful.
  • Children: The Challenge by Rudolf Dreikurs – Erol’s mama used this for all discipline support and loved it. Haven’t read it yet but it’s at the top of my list. Maybe for later.
  • The no-cry sleep solution by Elizabeth Pantley – Haven’t read the whole thing but love the gentle, loving approach to working with your baby on sleep rather than the inhumane, insensitive cry-it-out (CIO) approach many American moms use to get their babies sleeping throughout the night.
  • Dr. Sears Baby Book – Good for everything! If you freak out when you see a rash or fever or anything this is a bible, and it also has tons of awesome info on attachment parenting

Enjoy!

